News & Announcements User Community Developer Community

Welcome to the RingCentral Community

Please note the community is currently under maintenance and is read-only.

Search
Make sure to review our Terms of Use and Community Guidelines.
  Please note the community is currently under maintenance and is read-only.
Home » Developers
Programmatically dial a number
Tags: getting started
Sep 17, 2017 at 10:23am   •   2 replies  •  0 likes
jason

Hi,

I'm new to the Ring Central developer community - although my company has been using Ring Central for a while now.

We are investigating ways to programmatically dial the telephone number of a new lead from our Ring Central number.

Reviewing the API docs, the best option I can see there is the RingOut service, where-by the from number is one of our Ring Central numbers and the to number is that of the lead. From my understanding the ring-out will call our number and the to number, and connect the 2 once they are answered.

Is this the correct understanding of the service and could it meet our requirements?

Many thanks,

Jason

2 Answers
answered on Sep 17, 2017 at 6:05pm  
Yes the ringout API will work. You can also use the web-phone SDK https://github.com/ringcentral/ringcentral-web-phone which allows you to make phone calls directly from your browser.

answered on Sep 17, 2017 at 10:55am  
My company recently completed a task similar to this.  We used the RingOut Api functionality to accomplish this goal.  Be mindful of the number of RingOut Requests you will be making per minute.  There's a set number of api hits you can make per minute.  I highly recommend reading up on the documentation around that specific api, so you don't get bogged down having to wait during the throttle period.

A new Community is coming to RingCentral!

Posts are currently read-only as we transition into our new platform.

We thank you for your patience
during this downtime.

Try Workflow Builder