News & Announcements User Community Developer Community

Welcome to the RingCentral Community

Please note the community is currently under maintenance and is read-only.

Search
Make sure to review our Terms of Use and Community Guidelines.
  Please note the community is currently under maintenance and is read-only.
Home » Developers
What is the correct process for integrating my application with RingCentral to send faxes?
Tags: integrations, developer sandbox, authentication, fax
Apr 25, 2024 at 10:38am   •   1 replies  •  0 likes
Luke Kim

I am a developer for an application where we want users to be able to send their contacts faxes. Currently, the way we have the integration with RingCentral built is that each customer needs to make their own RingCentral developer account, create their own private application in RingCentral, and then enter their own JWT token, client ID, and client secret into our application. This process is clearly too long and technical for an average user, so I was wondering how the process should work for integrating RingCentral into our application.

After talking to a RingCentral rep, I was told that a correct step would be for us, the developers of our application, to make a public app in RingCentral that our users then utilize to send their faxes. Here is where I have some questions:

1. If each RingCentral public app has its own client ID and secret that our application would use to communicate with it, do our customers even have to know of the client ID and secret at all?

2. I read online that a JWT token is essentially like a user's username and password. If we have one RingCentral public app that our users connect to, each of them would have to generate their own JWT tokens, correct?